Driving in Laos on a 100cc as i have no experience with big bikes - good or bad idea?

peco

Oct 12, 2010
Hi everyone

Im going to be heading to Laos in a month and i want to explore the country on a bike. I have some questions that i hope can be answered :)

1 - I dont have a license of any sort, is it a major problem in Laos, can i still rent?

I have been traveling in Asia for the last 18 months and have driven in China, Nepal, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, so i am use to the road conditions here (in fact its the only road conditions i know as i have never driven anything before i come to Asia :D).

In vietnam i drove from HN - HCMC on a 125cc minsk which was great fun but i am wondering what options i have for riding in Laos?

I only learnt how to drive while traveling and have mostly used semi automatics (apart from the minsk), i dont think it would be a good idea getting a big bike simply because i dont have the experience and i will be riding alone.

I have been looking on the forums and see there are no minsk's available in the rental shops so i guess i will have to go a step down instead of up to be safe.

I would just stick to a main route, no off road stuff.

2 - Would a 100cc be efficient? is it possible to store bags and such on a bike like this (i have never seen it be done)

Or should i just bite the bullet and go with a 200cc or 250cc Baja or something so i can make use of saddle bags and the extra ooommppphhh.

Money is also important as im on a bit of a budget. I really dont have the money to be spending $20-30 per day on a bike. Can you find bikes for $10-15 per day in Vientiane?

So i guess my question is what would be the safest and most economical way of riding in Laos.

thanks in advance for any suggestions you have :)

Dec 30, 2010