Golden Triangle - Doi Phuka loop

Apr 25, 2005
Hallo, this is my first attempt to write a trip report, english is not my native language, so please forgive me my stupid writing errors.

Places where I spend the night:
Chiang Mai - Chiang Rai - Chiang Khong - Chiang Kham - Nan - Nan - Chiang Mai
The trip was made on a Honda CB 750 rented at Mr. Mechanic.
And the date was a few days after new year, I think around the 7th january when I finally recoverd a little bit from the huge hangovers that come with the late night drinking I never can stay away from in Chiang Mai.

day 1:
The plan was to start early and head north using the 107. But because of the problem mentioned above ( I remember something about going to the Lucky for a last beer Chang and this turned into enough Chang's to keep me there till 5 am[:eek:)] ) the depature was delayed to somewhere around 1 pm. So we just took the 118 to Chiang Rai, to get away from the CM bars. The ride was pretty boring and only a quick stop was made at the cabbages and condoms restaurant to drink three soda's on this incredibly thirsty day.
In chiang Rai we checked in at Mae Kok Villa at 500 bath, and went out to get some food at the market, because I wasn't feeling very well I decided not to check out the bars in Jed Yod, so I now have a reason to go back to Chiang Rai
6452b51afd5641ed8084aba8a2e505eb.jpg

Day 2:
This day it was no problem to make an early start. We drove to Mae Chan on highway 1 and then took a left onto the 1089, next we made a right turn to Mae Salong, very nice mountian roads here and the weather was also very good so a perfect day for driving. From Doi Mae Salong we made our way to Doi Thung, with a quick stop at the Mae fah luang gardens and had many magnificent views along the way and from the temple on top of Doi Tung.
cf2f0662254dce18f24d5bc9cc567706.jpg