GPS batt life - can plug in be used in rental bikes?

Jun 25, 2011
Hi Guys
First and formost - thumbs up for the weddy. Super infomative + real life trip reports.
From this forum, i know where and wht road to use, waiting for the map to arrive and to update my GPS!!

Problem:
My wife and I will be doing a 2 day ride during end July (1day ride each). Will be renting a bike and have bought a map from Gt forum already.

I have my own GPS but the batt life can last only 4 hrs. And it might not be enough for the day ride. As i am renting a bike from CM, any ideas if they have cigrats sockets for me to tap the power or can i bring my own cable and tap batt from the main battery?:confused:
Or is there any tips or solutions which can help me in 1 way or another?

I will bring my own boots / helmet / gloves / knee and elbow pads & rain coat. Might be thinking to rent a mesh jacket or jeans with Tee wiht my protective gears. This is my planning.

As this is my first time. Hope to get some tips or advices from the seniors here.

Thanks all...

Nov 7, 2007
i have now a cig socket installed on my virago 750 for keeping the battery charged...my gps is also my phone and before i used to ride using maps ( which i still do) and if i was not sure i switched on the gps which could reveal my current location (or confuse me further :) )
Maybe me old fashioned but i like to stop sometimes and look at maps :)
As alternative i could have bought a second battery ....

mbox

Jun 25, 2011
mbox999;269199 wrote: i have now a cig socket installed on my virago 750 for keeping the battery charged...my gps is also my phone and before i used to ride using maps ( which i still do) and if i was not sure i switched on the gps which could reveal my current location (or confuse me further :) )
Maybe me old fashioned but i like to stop sometimes and look at maps :)
As alternative i could have bought a second battery ....

mbox