Kawasaki D-Tracker or Honda CBR 250R?

Jul 28, 2008
So, after finally deciding on a D-Tracker 250cc as my first 'real' bike (will buy next month) the recent release of the new Honda CBR 250R has thrown a spanner in the works. I know they are very different bikes but I'm really tempted by the Honda, the main reasons are that it's 30k cheaper, has abs and I won't have to travel to CM to buy it or every time it needs servicing or has a problem.

I like the upright position of the D-Tracker and high seat and thought the Honda may be too cramped as I am 6'3 (191cm) but I sat on a non-abs bike today and it seemed big enough.

I would be using it for road use only around North Thailand but not for any long distance trips and I'm a novice biker, bearing this in mind which one would you choose and why?

Thanks and Happy New Year.

Jun 28, 2010
skybluestu;263526 wrote: So, after finally deciding on a D-Tracker 250cc as my first 'real' bike (will buy next month) the recent release of the new Honda CBR 250R has thrown a spanner in the works. I know they are very different bikes but I'm really tempted by the Honda, the main reasons are that it's 30k cheaper, has abs and I won't have to travel to CM to buy it or every time it needs servicing or has a problem.

I like the upright position of the D-Tracker and high seat and thought the Honda may be too cramped as I am 6'3 (191cm) but I sat on a non-abs bike today and it seemed big enough.

I would be using it for road use only around North Thailand but not for any long distance trips and I'm a novice biker, bearing this in mind which one would you choose and why?

Taking those 2 pointers into account i would tell you buy the CBR.

But if you take to riding and get the urge to explore some of the dirt up north you`ll probably wish you got the D tracker.

Toss a coin 555

gobs

Feb 8, 2007
As says Cruising, if for "road use only", I guess the CBR will give you more fun.