Language School information

daveg

Nov 8, 2010
Hi! I'm new to both the forum and to Thailand. I'm here as part of my RTW trip but plan on spending the bulk of my days in SE Asia as I can't leave until the weather warms up in central Asia. I've skimmed quite a bit of the forum and read most of the site and really appreciate all the info ya'll put out there. You can check out my blog here: http://davegtravels.com

Unfortunately I didn't realize how inexpensive air freight was until reading a few posts on this board.... hindsight 20/20, right? ANyway, I'm stuck waiting for my bike to arrive via RoRo from the USA and want to take atleast one of my 3 months here studying at a language school.

My original plan was to go up to Chang Mai and study because I want to stay in a smaller and more manageable city than Bangkok, but I've since learned that it is just as hectic. Any of you have any suggestions? It'd also be great if it were at higher elevation to experience a bit of cooler weather.

Any ideas?

Sep 4, 2007
Hi Dave,
As a regular vistor to Chiang Mai for the last 5 years and now a resident for 2 months I can say that you definately cannot compare Bangkok and CM in terms of 'hecticness'. Sometimes there is busy rush hour traffic, but even this can be avoided when you know the place. I always found visits to BKK tiring and visits to CM refreshing. As for language school, they are certainly here but I do not know them, I am sure someone else will help you there. Best wishes for your visit and please make contact with the motorcy community up here. People always willing to meet up and chat about bikes and biking.

Jan 14, 2010
Welcome to the GT Rider forum.

daveg wrote:

My original plan was to go up to Chang Mai and study because I want to stay in a smaller and more manageable city than Bangkok,
That was a good plan.

daveg wrote: but I've since learned that it is just as hectic.
You've been mis-informed.

daveg wrote: Any ideas?