Need help planning a route from CM --> N Thailand --> NE Thailand and back

peco

Oct 12, 2010
I have been searching the forums and looking through close to 100 trip reports for N Thailand & NE Thailand and i am just completely lost. All of the trip reports look amazing, i could look through Captain_Slash reports all day!

but im having trouble piecing all these trip reports together to make a route for myself.

I will be arriving in Bangkok 15th Jan, i will spend maybe a week there and then ill be heading straight up to CM to rent a bike, Suzuki Van Van looks nice as i have no experience with big bikes.

Now i have already visited the tip of northern thailand last year - Soppong , Chiang Rai and area around there so there is no need to go there again.

As the titles suggests i am looking to rent a bike from Chiang Mai and ride through northern thailand to get to NE Thailand (where i have never visited). I would like to travel around NE Thailand and then make my way back to Chiang Mai

I can set aside 2 weeks to complete this trip.

I only feel comfortable on tarmac roads (of course they are not perfect all the time), i have never been off road and as im doing this myself i think its best to stay on the tarmac.

I love riding through mountains where i am above the clouds so any route that takes me to a high elevation would be great.

Also i dont like riding more than 200km per day, i love taking pictures and usually stop every 15 mins to take snaps.

So -

1 - How long would you set aside to do something like this?
2 - What are the best, safest, most comfortable routes to take?
3 - Any tips on things to take?
4 - Is it possible to do the route in a loop so im not doing the same trip on the way back to chiang mai?

look forward to hearing your suggestions :)

Oct 17, 2006