Newbie checking in here, that's all.........

Jun 11, 2012
I live in West Virginia, USA. I am a retired mining engineer. I joined the forum because I am planning a tour of Thailand (and possibly more) starting in January 2013. I will be traveling with Digiamo (also a member here) and we are planning on renting bikes for our tour and will be looking here as a resource for travel tips and contacts. We are anxiously awaiting our trip. We plan to be "over there" for 4 to 6 weeks.
Ride Safe
Joe

Dec 27, 2007
Hiya Joe!

Welcome to the GT-Rider!

January is a great time to tour Thailand by motorcycle- clean air and cool dry weather.

Any ideas where you will ride? What type(s) of bikes interest you?

Let us know if you have any questions.

Happy Trails!

Tony :happy1:

Jun 11, 2012
Hey Tony, we are thinking maybe Laos, I have a contact in Chang Mai. I would like to get down to Phuket and try to work a sailing deal if I can? No firm agenda as of now. Playing it all by ear. I have a Versys back at home and would like to rent something similar or smaller. We wont need any big bikes as we wont be hauling a lot of gear.
TonyBKK;279907 wrote: Hiya Joe!

Welcome to the GT-Rider!

January is a great time to tour Thailand by motorcycle- clean air and cool dry weather.

Any ideas where you will ride? What type(s) of bikes interest you?

Let us know if you have any questions.

Happy Trails!

Tony :happy1:

Dec 27, 2007
Versys is a fantastic go-anywhere bike for touring in SE Asia, and since they are manufactured in Thailand there are plenty available for rent.

That said, if Laos is your destination you might find the Versys is really more bike than you need. I think a 250 dirtbike like a KLX250 or the new Honda CRF 250L is more suitable for Laos where you'll never miss the speed of a bigger bike.

With 4-6 weeks at your disposal I suppose you could also squeeze in some sailing in Phuket. Would you fly or ride to the island? Calm seas in January.

Sounds like a great vacation!