Opinions on 2011 klx250

Tango

Jul 11, 2011
Hi, I'm new to riding and this site. I'm 34, and live up near Chong Mek.

I would like to get a small bike for starters, and was thinking of a new KLX250..

I'd really appreciate some advice on what you guys and girls think of this bike, or any tips regarding this or other bikes that you think would be suitable.

I dont want to use it for long tours, just getting to know my local area, and a lot of offroading around the villages.

thanks in advance,
Dave

Canoli

Mar 24, 2010
Dave,
The KLX is a great bike. Tough, light, easy to fix, easy to find parts for in Thailand and it runs on just about any gas you can find. It also lends itself to a lot of different mods to include a "Big Bore" 300 cc kit. I'm currently on a 650 but have used the KLX on a few occasions to include a 1000 KM weekend trip and it was TONS of fun (it will wheelie with some effort)

Also if you plan to ride though a lot of water you might want to consider the kick start kit but it is small enough to bump start in a pinch. Big thread in ADV rider about it:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107591

Canoli

Tango

Jul 11, 2011
Hi Canoli, thanks for the reply....that helps me a lot, as does the link.

Much appreciated.

Naz

Nov 10, 2010
Hi Tango.
2011 klx is same as previous 2 years models,
i riding 09 version, and im newbie as well. Im pretty happy with bike and still riding it stock, but like opportunity to easily modify it, and cheap spares as well.
Its not very responsive to throttle but that will only help if you just learning, and regardless of throttle response it does wheelie and jumps easily when you got used to it or put 50tooth sprocket :) on rear. There is two types of modified ecu in Thailand (8k and 5k baht) as well some guys in Chiang may was de-restricting it for some 2k baht. any master will open your exhaust for 1k baht and you have free mod by re-wiring it a bit (i not recommend) and opening airbox lidtrimming snorkel