Riding Honda phantom 20cc from Chiang mai to Nong Khai .. ?

May 9, 2014
Hi everybody.

I am far from an expert in the motorbike world, used to riding pcx, small offroaders and the likes, but now i got a small Honda Phantom 200cc, in perfect condition.
Would like a bigger later, but cost more money all that.. ;-)

I have to go to Nong Khai in a weeks time, so thought maybe i could drive there with my Phantom..
I were thinking doing it with 1 stopover each way, so approx 400km per day, cruising speed 80km/h all the way.

Is this something that can be done on a Phantom, or best to rent a bigger bike, or...

I have previously driven long trips, but these were on off road bikes, Vietnam Saigon-Hanoi, and Hua hin-Krabi and more..
Mentioning this, to explain that i have experience, just not sure of the capability of the Phantom.

If i do the trip, i will be sure to make a trip report on it ;-)

Sep 4, 2007
The Phantom is capable of cruising all day economically at 80kph and is reasonable comfortable as well. So if you are happy cruising at that speed, I would go for it. It will probably manage to cruise nearer to 100kph if that appeals to you

May 9, 2014
Thank you John.
Sounds great. I think i will go for it then ;-)
Was worried, because its a long ride. Approx 1500km return trip! Mythinking were maybe a Phantom were not strong enough to handle a trip like that..
But thanx again.

Jun 14, 2009
Go for it buddy! I met a guy ridding a Phantom at a hotel near Mae Sa. He based himself in Pattaya, but makes three month and longer solo road trips all over Thailand.

FWIW, I've made several trips from Pattaya to Chiang Mai -and beyond- on a Honda Wave 110i. Smaller bikes will get you there, just takes a bit longer :)

May 9, 2014
Billy Baht;299186 wrote: Go for it buddy! I met a guy ridding a Phantom at a hotel near Mae Sa. He based himself in Pattaya, but makes three month and longer solo road trips all over Thailand.