Shipping Costs And Options For Us To Bkk (actually Going To Do This)

Imported

Sep 26, 2016
Thailand and USA
Greetings to all. I'm an American who has lived and worked in Bangkok for 7 of the last 10 years and after a year away, I'm moving back this month for another long-term job assignment. I started riding in Thailand 3 years ago and since have done about 30k km to many different parts of the country. I started with a 2013 Ducati Monster 795 and now have a 2014 Diavel that is waiting for me in my friend's garage.

Due to uncertainty with where I'd be living next and my proclivity to spend first and ask questions later, I also bought another new bike in the US last year. I am now seriously looking at shipping this bike to Thailand either as a temporary or permanent import. Despite all the warnings and difficulties associated with this process, I believe it will be worth it because the bike is a fully built-up import in Thailand and priced over 200% it's US price, and since it's now 2 model years old the taxes will be lower if I do a permanent import.

I'm looking for feedback from anyone who has recently shipped a bike to Thailand, or seriously attempted to do so or considered it but decided not to. Right now I'm getting shipping quotes from various companies, and I also have a BKK-based agent who will help with things on that side. Please share any recent experiences or related insights you may have.

Apr 21, 2015
Bang Lamung
Imported,

I don't check this forum that often. I do check other motorcycle or Thailand related forums.

With that stated, I recently completed the permanent importation of my motorcycle (2008 BMW R1200GS Adventure) into Thailand. I also obtained the green registration book and Thai license plate. The process was long and required a lot of paperwork.

Here are some recommended questions to answer prior to starting an attempt to import a motorcycle into Thailand:
Are you trying to permanently import your motorcycle?