Track Days nearest to Roi et

Oct 20, 2012
Hello
Ime wondering if there is any track day events in the NE Thailand, i have never done it before on a bike , but watching you guys has made me interested, ive got a new Versys ordered but i dont want to use a new bike on the track.
I am wondering also if there tracks near me what cheep bike would be good to thrash around and also what would be the best safety equipment (used pref ) to buy or rent, i have previous for getting all the gear and losing interest so i just want the basic starter kit for know but i would be looking to pay up to 150,000b for the bike as i want to have a few bikes in my garage anyway.
I have had bikes for 30 years but i wouldnt say i was a particularly good on or off road just average, thanks for your input
Jim

Dec 27, 2007
Sorry but I don't think there are any tracks in NE Thailand. Chiang Mai Speedway in Hang Dong is now closed I believe? I hear the owners were unable to renew their lease on the land.

I think the closest real track for you will be Bonanza Circuit, just north of Khao Yai National Park:
bonanza-speed-way-plan.jpg

It's a work in progress, not many facilities available, no medical support, so take it nice and easy :)

Certainly one of the cheapest options for a track bike will be a 2009 ER6n. They seem to go for ~160-190k Baht these days and you can strip them down and take them to the track as is. You'll quickly find the limitations of the stock suspension and probably upgrade that first, then look at other ways to cut weight and improve power, but bottom line, the ER6n is a really fun and forgiving track toy, cheap to repair and easy to sell on if you decide to upgrade to something more serious down the road.
Picture-017_resizeSSR.jpg

Oct 20, 2012