10 Wheeler 1, biker 0

Dec 3, 2003
First I’m not writing this report to show how brave, stupid or “lucky” I am. I writing it to possibly help someone else who thinks “it can’t happen to me”.

I moved to Thailand November 5, 2004 after retiring from an airline after 26 years. I had been planning this move with my wife for over 2 years. I contacted Peter Reid at Siam Superbikes and went to see what he had. I really wanted something along the lines of a TDM and he had one that I liked. Peter delivered it to my house and the adventure began.

I also have a truck and was getting used to the traffic. I kept the bike in the rural areas till I had a feel for it. The TDM is a great bike. My biggest problems were slow turns and going slow. I started riding into to the city getting what I thought a good feel for traffic. I might add that the area I live has a lot of truck traffic and the roads look and feel like ice at times. The TDM has two big disks on the front and I tried to use them all the time, but I also didn’t want to do an endo. The rear disk would lock the back up quickly if I put a lot of foot into stopping.