Bike rental for tour Malaysia

JoMass

Apr 27, 2009
Hi all,

Last year I was in Thailand and went to the Golden Triangle (I rented a bike at Tony's Big Bikes in Chiang Mai) and really really loved it!

That was the reason why I booked a flight to Malaysia KL from 5 to 29th July and I am looking for a bike to go around that country this time.
In Belgium, Europe I drive bikes (now Honda VFR 800A) for about 10 years. Not saying I am a perfect driver, but do have some experience.

Can anyone help me out on renting a bike for about 2,5 weeks. It should be more or less decent bike with some space for luggage and duo rider (my wife). Varadero, Versys or Africa Twin would be optimal but I am open for anything :wink:

Do you know anyone who can help me out or maybe yourself?

Thanks a lot!!!
Best regards,
Jo

Joko

Dec 10, 2006
Sadly, in Malaysia the cost of bikes over 250cc is very expensive. Malaysia has the most expensive bike price in the world. But unlike Thailand, all bikes come with proper certification/grant or else, they cannot be on the road. There is no bike on the road without the equivalent of the Thai's Green Paper.

Because of such price structure, not many businessmen are willing to venture into this rental business. E.g. Baht1,200,000 for a GS1200 or Baht320,000 for a 17yr old African twin or a Baht700,000 for a 2006 VFR!

The DP bikes you mentioned are either too new or too few in the market.

If you are still keen, I shall try to get a couple of contacts for you but be warned that the bikes are not new and will also be rather pricey...

joko

Apr 10, 2006
What about smaller bikes, are they available for rent in places like Kuala Lumpur, Penang etc ?

I'm thinking about a trip down to Malaysia the next time I'm over and even something like a Honda Wave would do for local sightseeing.

Joko

Dec 10, 2006
penetrator wrote: What about smaller bikes, are they available for rent in places like Kuala Lumpur, Penang etc ?