Good Evening/morning From The Uk

Billy Mill

Feb 1, 2019
Hi Guys.

I've been riding a big bike in the UK for the last two years, mainly year round commuting and a few local tours. I've racked up about 10,000 miles each year. It's now time to branch out a little and I'm heading to Chiang Mai at the end of this month to try foreign roads for the first time. Unfortunately, I've only got three or four days to explore the very best roads before the other half drags me to the beaches further south. If the pictures and the reviews on here are anything to go by, I'm counting this trip as research for future visits. Please don't tell the oh!

I've had a quick scout through the rental pages and I'm sure there's a ready supply of the type of bike I'm after for a two up steady tour. My question relates to the practice of passports as deposit? I understand this is fairly widespread, I'd personally keep my passport and pay a deposit on the bike instead. Has anybody got any advice or experience in terms of best practice for this?

Thanks for letting me on and ride safe :)

Deano747

Subscribed
Aug 24, 2008
I can give some very general advice rom the perspective of someone who doesn't live there, but goes there for a couple of weeks every year over more than a decade.

The passport thing isn't a problem from a large motorcycle hire firm. Think Pops, Mr mechanic, C & P Big Bike. Don't know about the size of the deposit you would have to leave in lieu if they allowed you, but I believe it would be for the price of the bike. Think > 300,000 Baht for a V Strom / Versys. When Pops was alive he eventually allowed me to keep mine, but that was after renting multiple bikes off him for a number of years so there was a history of trust.

Be aware that there is NO accident insurance available for bike hire. You break it, you pay for it. You write it off, you have just bought them a new one.