Hanoi to HCMC December 2011

Oct 5, 2011
Am planning a trip from Hanoi to HCMC, taking in the northern loop first, starting December.Flexible with dates and time other than visa constraints.
Anyone planning similar fancy some company.
i'm a Decent mechanic, well travelled,experienced mature rider.

Sims

Oct 9, 2011
Hi,

Hi, I am coming to Hanoi this December and want to do a motorbike trip up to the North East (Ha Giang, Meo Vac, Dong Van, Cao Bang, etc). Probably will depart Hanoi around 20-21 December and will travel for a week or so around the North East. If that interests you, send me a email and we can chat about the details.

Cheers

Apr 22, 2010
I'm currently doing this exact same thing and am currently in HoiAn. I bought the bike in Hanoi, trained it up to Sapa and then did the north/west loop down to Mai Chau and down Hwy 1.

My blog may prove useful to you on what to expect but I'll also be putting together a trip report on here once I return home.
http://daveischasingthehorizon.blogspot.com/

Axel_F

Jun 13, 2009
Unless you will take time at the end of your trip to stay at the beach; Mui Ne for example (Road Mui Ne - Dalat is also a nice drive), you should perhaps consider doing the trip the other way round: start in hcm, end in hanoi ; the mountains in the North are a great treat to look forward to.

Update: sorry, i just read from your other posts that you are in Lao now, so going to hcm first doesn't make much sense. Mui Ne remains a nice stop at the beach if you are looking to wind down for a few days. recommended places to stay are Coco Beach or Sailing Club if you want to spend some extra, Full Moon resort is a good alternative.

Enjoy the remainder of your trip.

Rod Page

Subscribed
Jan 7, 2010
Hudsonian,
I'll be riding around northern VN in Feb/March. A trip report from you would help in preparing'
thanks in advance mate.

Jan 26, 2013
Hudsonian,
I'm starting a similar trip in March 2013. Still trying to figure out the route and other logistics.