Hi, GT Riders from Toronto

Nov 5, 2011
I notice that this is a place where people introduce themselves after signing on to GT-riders, so that's what I'm going to do.

I just became a member yesterday, and am busy on my first trip through all the relevant forum topics, especially the ones for new users—they've already helped a lot!

I'm Brian Robinson from Toronto in Canada. I was, until recently (see below) working in public relations/communications for an organization of professional employees in the electricity industry.

I'm going to spend 3-4 months in SE Asia starting Feb 2 or so, 2012, and hope to do a lot of biking while there. I just took it up this year—mostly in preparation for my trip—and, so while I'm really enjoying myself, I'm still pretty new at it.

The reason I've got so much time to spend abroad is I recently offered my employer the chance of a lifetime—if they would just extend me full pay for a few months while I looked for other opportunities (;)), I would go away and stop bothering them about such things as decent, non-mind-numbing work. They, being not entirely brain-dead, and as tired of me as I was of them, jumped at the opportunity. So I'm gone, and ready to spend some time and a few dollars to benefit the Thais, the Laos, the Viets, and the Khmers. All while biking my ass off.

In the best of all possible worlds, I'd be able to do this relatively frequently. I'm sure most of you will agree.

I'll be arriving in CM around Feb 6th, to visit a friend of mine of very long standing (who's also a GTR member). The Kafe will be one of my first stops in this terrific city. Looking forward to making some contacts.