Laos Biking Help Needed

Jan 7, 2005
Howdy,
Im a bit new to all this but a few weeks ago myself and a friend of mine bought two honda dreams and we are now in luang prabang i was just wondering if people could held me out with a few things?
I read a post about getting insurance for $3 fro ten days in how manydifferent places is it possible to get this?

Also is there any safety issues on the roads here some guy mentioned snipers to me and put a bit of a scare on me.

Do the police stop people on a regular basis over here or are they as relaxewd as in thailand(we have thai plates but allpaper work is above board and in our names.

I know iprobably should have been more prepared but spontanaiety got the better of us so any info would be really appreciated.
Cheers Padraig

Mar 2, 2005
mmmm 1st insurance I know prople talk about it and things may have changed since I left 1 year ago but the General consensus among us locals was that the insurance was not worth the paper it was printed on.

Re safety issues, Security situation in lao has always been a concern and there have been incidents of things that are in good happening between LP and kassy. HOWEVER if you follow common sense you shouldn’t go wrong. Foreigners have NEVER been targeted by (ad the gov calls them) bad people. If a uniform tells you not to go somewhere DON’T GO. I have always found uniforms to be polite and helpful if treated in kind but do remember that those AK47 are not just for show. The only foreigner to have any trouble on the roads was two tourists that stopped to look at a bus being shot up. Funnily enough they got to join in so just stay away from trouble.

This all sound negative it is not supposed to be. Lao is a wondrous, fab, groovy and safe place. I love dearly. IF YOU TRAVEL WITH YOUR BRAIN AND DO NOT LEAVE IT AT IMIGRATION YOU WILL BE FINE.

Travel safe

BobS

Jan 20, 2003