Laos motorbike questions

Greggg

Nov 29, 2011
Hi,
I'm new here and would appreciate any advice or suggestions. I've spent several hours reading through the GT website so hopefully I won't ask too many dumb questions.
First about me:
I've been traveling for 2-3 months every year around SE Asia, mostly Thailand and Bali,but also all the surrounding countries, for about 8 years now.Just 3 years ago I decided to throw caution to the wind and rent a motorbike,something I've never tried before. I now can't imagine traveling around this part of the world without one. Last year I took 2 week long road trips, Mae Hong Son Loop and Chiang Mai- Mae Sariang-Mae Sot-Sukhothai-CM.Those 2 weeks were the highlight of my 3 months travel. I know some might look down on using a small motorbike as opposed to a full size motor cycle, but it's what I'm comfortable with and even though some people advised against using a motorbike for the 2 trips I did last year,I had no problems and for the time being see no need to move up to a bigger bike.
So now my questions:
I have about a week of my schedule to fill in mid January and have decided on going to either Laos or Cambodia. I've read some negative comments about renting in Cambodia including difficulties with police. So I'm leaning towards going to laos, but am still open to Cambodia if anyone wants to weigh in on the pluses or minuses of either.
Assuming I go to Laos, I will most likely start in Luang Prabang.
Is it possible to rent a motorbike there?
I found links through this forum for 2 rental shops.The Jim Oi link took me to an "Error" page. The other, "Jules", sounds like I would have to pre-arrange a motorbike to be sent to LP from Vientiane.And actually, looking at the website, they might not even rent motorbikes. Only larger bikes. Is there any shop in LP that rents motorbikes right there?
If not, is there another town which I could get to by bus where I could rent?
What are the license requirements for Laos? Insurance?