Losing power on my TA200 Phantom

lmacka

Jun 14, 2009
I'm having a bit of an issue which is proving to be very dangerous. I nearly got collected twice today because I didn't have enough omph to perform an overtake.

What happens is that I lose roughly 40% of the engine's power from time to time. I can hear an audible difference in the performance; it doesn't have the loud hollow sound I normally get when I hit the gas. My top speed is capped at about 80 in 5th. Can't go to 6th - engine doesn't have enough torque to handle it.

It seems to happen after I come out of a 'slow period'. I generally cruise along at about 90-100k/h but slow to 40-60k/h for villages, gravel and other hazards. When I exit the hazard, I've lost power.
Sometimes it comes back after a few Ks by itself, other times I'm able to fix it by getting speed up, dropping down to 2nd or 3rd and coasting for a few hundred meters.

Now, I have a theory. Straight up - I'm still learning about engines so please help me with the names to the bits I'm talking about...
It seems the problem is with my carb. The engine is either being starved of fuel or air. I initially thought it was fuel but not any more.
There's a component of the carb which is like a cylindrical piston. On the top there's what appears to be a sealed air reserve which compresses and then forces the 'piston' back down if it's pushed up.

I'm guessing here but that 'piston' has something to do with the amount of fuel being let into the engine. When you open the throttle, the pressure pushes the 'piston' up and thus allows more fuel into the engine.
I think it's getting stuck and when I coast, the pressure generated in the carb loosens it up. Maybe.

Having a guess here but I'm tempted to spray some lubricant on it (WD40 or the likes). Should I do this? Gonna check this again tomorrow arvo for hints and tips, otherwise I'll just go ahead and spray it.

Thanks in advance!

lmacka

Jun 14, 2009