Nong Khiew to Phou Lao on Highway 1C - need updated road condition

fm2002

Mar 3, 2007
I'm planning a trip leaving from Chiang Rai end of this month crossing in Chiang Khong to Luang Namtha -->Nong Khiew-->Phou Lao in my 4x4 truck. I've done this before a few years back, but am wondering about the present condition of 1C?

Second, wil be going from Phou Lao-->Phonsovan (done this before should be no problem). However from Phonsovan I don't want to take Highway 7 west to 13 south to Vientiane. Would like to head east out of Phonsovan on Highway 10 to Thoum than drop down south what looks like a small road on GT Riders map to Viang Lang. Than head west to Xaysomboune. After Xaysomboune hang a left and go south on what looks like a bigger road to Langsane and continue to Thabak where I can hook up with Highway 13 back into Vientiane.

I'm no newbie; been riding bikes/trucks through Laos, Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam for many years. That said I don't have or would want to use a winch or have to dig myself out. So is this trip doable ???

Jul 11, 2007
Hello,
I have done it last Feb on a 250 AX Honda. Nong kiaw-Phou Lao all paved now.
After Phonsavan I went to Paksan,using 10.Paved to Muang Khoune.
Beware: Out of Muang Khoune,at the bottom of the hill,about 100 meters after the petrol station there is a temple. Turn right there,dont go to Thoum.There was a lot of big road works all along to Tha Viang where I headed East.
The beginning of the trail to Xaysomboune seemed OK.
Have a nice trip.
Lung.

fm2002

Mar 3, 2007
guichard;271366 wrote: Hello,
I have done it last Feb on a 250 AX Honda. Nong kiaw-Phou Lao all paved now.
After Phonsavan I went to Paksan,using 10.Paved to Muang Khoune.
Beware: Out of Muang Khoune,at the bottom of the hill,about 100 meters after the petrol station there is a temple. Turn right there,dont go to Thoum.There was a lot of big road works all along to Tha Viang where I headed East.
The beginning of the trail to Xaysomboune seemed OK.