RTW rider coming to SE Asia needs help

Oct 15, 2013
Hi My name is Lalo. I am currently riding my BMW around the world, I have been traveling for 16 months now and I have been to over 40 different countries. I want to visit Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia and Indonesia (and maybe Burma if I can) I am planning to park the BMW and buy a little motorcycle like a Honda or Kawasaki 250 Enduro in SE Asia. Here are my questions: Where is the best place to go to buy such a motorcycle? If I am planning to spend 5 months in SE Asia, and want the minimum amount of problems bringing this same motorcycle across each border, what country is the best place to buy the motorcycle. Can I put the motorcycle in to name as a non resident? If so, how long would that take? Or can I just keep the ownership in someone else's name if that is not a problem at the borders. Basically, I just want to fly in, buy a motorcycle and spend 5 months riding to the 6 or 7 different countries there with the minimum amount of hassle at the borders and by the police. I would like to hear from people that have first hand experience doing this. If you are just guessing, then that probably won't help me. .My plan is to come toward the end of November. Here is the link to my blog on AdvRider. I have over 800,000 view to date http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=801516&page=5 I will look forward to hearing back from you

Dec 27, 2007
Welcome to GT-Rider!

End of November is high season here so second hand and rental bikes become a bit scarce at this time of year.

If you want to rent best to book ahead. As for buying, besides GT-Rider there are a few other English-language classified sites you might want to look at such as ThaiVisa classifieds () and BahtSold ().