Suggested trip for 2-3 days from Chiang Mai

Jan 16, 2013
Hi all

My friend and his girlfriend are coming to Chiang Mai (where I work as a teacher) for a week and my friend is keen to get some 'big bikes' and head off on an adventure for a few days. He is pretty inexperienced on two-wheels but has in the past tried out several small engined motorbikes as well as mopeds and scooters. I have rode a moped around Chiang Mai for years and borrowed a few proper bikes before for road-trips around Chiang Mai province but nothing more than about 200cc.

Can anyone suggest a decent trip for some relative novices to enjoy along with a suitable bike to ride. I am thinking a Honda CBR250 but he wants something bigger. His girlfriend is coming too, so I guess he needs something comfortable enough for two people.

I have already done the Mae Hong Son loop, so I was thinking of either heading down towards Mae Sot or up north to the Golden Triangle. We would be looking at spending two nights away, so any ideas of some interesting places to stop where I am not playing gooseberry!

Thanks

Will

Aug 25, 2012
Would not suggest MHS loop for a novice, especially on a bigger bike. The switchbacks around Pai are quite technical and coupled with idiotic minivan drivers, might be pushing it a bit too far.

I would instead suggest going further north to Chiang Saen / Chiang Khong, then coming down towards Phu Chi Fa and back to CM via Phayao. Riding along the Mekong has some stunning scenery.

Alternatively, south towards Hot, take a right towards Mae Sariang and then a left towards Mae Sot. The 108 is an incredible road, parts are race circuit quality and then turn the corner and it's potholed and unpaved in some areas (thanks once again to Frank for the recommendation to do this route).

Jan 16, 2013