Trip Report North Thailand Nov-Dec 2005

Severi

Sep 15, 2005
I'm Severi, I'm Finnish architect, but sometimes I work as a motorcycle guide in Cambodia and Thailand (next Russia). I'm absolutely motorcyclist in my heart. Now I even bought KTM640 LC4 to do some winter biking in Finland.

This short version of my first guidance in North Thailand.
I had just finished my previous two weeks trip with six Finns in Cambodia. I was ready to return to Thailand with my Thai-bike.

21Nov Phnom Penh - Battambang - Poipet. No problems of any kind. In Poipet it took some time to stay in que with pedestrians. After Poipet I found some small highway town wherre I stayed for night. It was amazing how clean Thailand is after several trips to Cambodia. Nightmarket felt like a laboratory.

22Nov Poipet - Petchabun
sv051122a.jpg

I took road 33 until 3077 through Khao Yai National Park. I stopped to tighten my chain to Castrol pitstop. Over friendly and helpful staff stopped all their work and maintained my bike, including lowering the oil level (twice) for 30 minutes and of course - free of charge! 3077 is very recommended, curves, hills and warnings of all kinds of animals. Some monkeys by the road. I continued over highway 2 towards north and managed my way to 2211-2275 until Petchabun where I stayed for night.

23Nov Petchabun - Chiang Mai
sv051123a.jpg

Roads 21-12-1149-1246-1047-11. For a first timer this was a great day. Most amazing was the curvy highway 11 between Lampang and Lamphun.

24Nov Chiang Mai. I reserved the bikes from Tony.

25Nov Chiang Mai. I met one local [:)].

26Nov Chiang Mai. I met her again [:D].

27Nov Chiang Mai. My customers or group arrived. After two cancellations they were only four (Raimo, Jarmo, Tapio and Heikki).

28Nov Chiang Mai - Fang
sv051128a.jpg

We got the bikes, bought helmets and headed north. While crossing hw11 we lost Raimo. Thanks to mobile phones we found each other after 30-60 minutes or so.
sv051128b.jpg