A comparison = Android or Garmin / New York TImes Aug. 17.2011

Oct 17, 2006
As I started playing with my HTC Andriod, much too smart for me, I was flabbergasted by its GPS capabilities.
Especially the satellite view turned me on, to see my own house or even the shinny brand new roofs of X-Centre's sliding car hall was unexpected. I should emphasis, 1. I am not an expert user of GPS, 2. I've have only been playing around with my Android. But I was waiting to see a comparison with a normal GPS.
Pico

Here it is, from the New York Times nytimes.com

When an Android Phone Becomes a GPS Device
by ERIC A. TAUB • Aug. 17, 2011

LOS ANGELES — I was on my way to one of my favorite art house cinemas, about 15 minutes away by car. Even though I go there three to four times a year, I always forget which exit to take. Fortunately, I had not one but two GPS devices on my dashboard: a popular model made by Garmin and an Android smartphone.

To my surprise, on the way there, it looked as if the smartphone was performing as well as the Garmin GPS device. But also to my surprise, sometimes they were both about as good as leaning out the window and getting advice from a stranger.

The smartphone found the exact name of the cinema but somehow placed it 75 miles and 90 minutes away. The GPS device seemed to nail it; I recognized the exit it told me to take and I took it. Then, following its turn-by-turn directions, I found myself blocks away in the middle of a residential street, with no cinema in sight.

Thanks to both, I missed the first 20 minutes of the movie.

As most users will testify, all GPS devices make mistakes, whether you have spent $2,000 for an in-car navigation system or one-tenth the price for the same features on a portable device.

Now drivers should be asking themselves: why do I need to spend even $200 for a GPS unit that sometimes makes mistakes when a just-as-smart (or dumb) smartphone can do the same thing?