Buying Versys at Mityon

Nov 27, 2012
I live in the countryside, Jangwat Trat, and am interested in buying a Versys - maybe.

However I have never ridden one - I now ride a Phantom, and I am not sure it will suit me. I am just 6 foot so I think I am tall enough but ....

I emailed Mityon in Pattaya about possibly buying one but got no reply. They are in GT-riders list of dealers, is that a recommendation?

I am wary of Pattaya. A friend asked (for me) at the local traffic office about buying a big bike second-hand in Pattaya, and was warned off because of forged Tabian Rots. As I am not experienced enough to buy a second-hand bike that was the end of that idea.

The Versys is a bit bigger than I wanted but at least it's new and therefore should be no problem with Tabian Rot?

I am seeing advice on a number of things concerning the Versys but to begin with I would like to know if Mityon are reliable and if I can be assured of a Tabian Rot

Dec 27, 2007
I would recommend you rent a Versys before you buy. There are plenty available for rent in Pattaya. Here in Bangkok contact BangkokBikesRental (http://www.bangkokbikesrental.com/#HOME.A).

Kawasaki Mityon has mixed reviews on service. Seems once they've made the sale they are not terribly interested in after sales service and the quality of service is often lacking. Most Kawasaki owners I know who live in the Pattaya / Chonburi / Rayong area ride up to Bangkok to get their bikes serviced at Rama 9 where they are far more competent.

You don't have to worry about paperwork- it's a new, 100% road legal bike.

Nov 27, 2012
Dear Tony,

Thanks a lot for your reply which was very helpful.

Things have moved on since I posted the question. A local restaurant owner is an enthusiast and has just bought a Versys. Whilst I haven't ridden it, he was changing the exhaust(?) at the time, I did sit on it and felt comfortable enough.