Saigon To Danang

Jun 11, 2019
Hi, this is my first time riding a motorbike around SE Asia. Having a great time + wanted to share our route so far.

We started in Saigon. If you are worried about the traffic, plan to leave early. We set off just after 5am + were getting to the edge of the city by the time the rush hour traffic had set in. Definitely saved us some time + stress!
Our first stop was Cat Tien NP. We stayed at Green Bamboo Lodge, which I cannot recommend highly enough! Great shady pool to cool off after our long ride. Our deck looked over the river + we saw monkeys + lots of birds from our deck. Very good value.

Next we rode to Bao Loc, avoiding the Q rd, we took DT725. I loved this ride, so pretty, great views, hardly any traffic + good roads, with a couple of country dirt roads thrown in for some excitement(we detoured a bit near Bao Loc). We stayed 2 nights in Bao Loc as I was unwell. There isn't much to see there, but we got good accommodation + people were super friendly as I don't think many tourists go there.

Headed to Dalat, again via the DT725, bit slower than the Q roads, but again, stunning views!!
There are a lot of lorries + buses on the way in.
Didn't enjoy driving in Dalat much, there are way more cars there than anywhere else we'd been, which causes some congestion. Rode to elephant falls, which was nice.

From Dalat, went to Phan Rang. Great views heading out of Dalat, but dont really recommend Phan Rang. I liked their central square, but the beach was pretty disgusting. Also crazy hot!

Rode up the coast to Nha Trang, very pretty ride at the start, although Cam Ranh to Nha Trang is just traffic + construction.

Nha Trang, not really for us. We booked our bikes on the train here + went to Danang that way. Enjoyed the train, it was easy, comfortable + inexpensive to put our bikes on. A few staff at the train station spoke good English, which helped loads.