New Cambodia / Vietnam border crossings reviewed

Aug 19, 2005
Many thanks for this info. I am a resident of Phnom Penh and so many times I have heard "Riding into VN? No problem" Yet when I ask the VN Embassy they answer "No way". The last time I asked was two weeks ago. I plan on going to Chau Doc via the river next Sunday and will ask there as well. Sure there are stories of people who have bluffed their way past the border officials but the problem could be inside VN or at the border getting back out. If they do accept the nothing over 175cc the problem still exists. Nobody rides small bikes over long trips

A.J.C.

Rage

Nov 28, 2005
Hello all!

This is my first post, but I have been reading along since a couple of months, ever since I decided to move to Hong Kong from Hamburg, Germany.

A quick summary: The border beween Thailand and Cambodia is easy, the crossings in the South between Cambodia and Vietnam proved to be impossible for 200cc and up bikes. (Note: This doesn't mean you can enter with smaller bikes, this is just what we had with us)

I have been to Vietnam and Thailand before and rented small bikes there to zip around towns.

Since I had no experience whatsoever riding motorcycles, I learned it in the crazy traffic of Saigon. I guess this made me pretty much oblivious to the danger.

I will write a longer trip report, but I'm at work right now...

Anyway, I was at the border crossings from Thailand to Cambodia, from Cambodia to Vietnam.

Here is what I have experienced (2 bikes, 250cc Yamaha Raid and 200cc Suzuki Djebel):

The border between Thailand and Cambodia was no problem at all:
We tried the border crossings at Hat Lek/Pak Klong and one farther North but still South of Aranyaprathet/Poipet. It's not on the map on this webside, but I will look up the names on my map at home.