Sunday ride with the Siem Reap Crew

Oct 9, 2015
Hi guys, My name's Dave I'm new to GT Rider, so I thought I'd introduce myself, and let you know about a typical day riding around Siem Reap.

I have lived in Cambodia for about 15 years now, and one of the reasons I've stayed here so long is the freedom we have here regarding dirt biking and touring round the country. Literally 10 mins from town we are on good trails. Most Sundays we try and get out on the bikes. Riding in the wet season is never dull. Trails that are fine to ride on one day can become waterlogged overnight. It was a bit like that last Sunday. We all met up for a breakfast of rice and pork, and strong iced coffee. The perfect way to start a riding day! After filling up our bellies and petrol tanks we were soon on the road.

We were heading to an old trail we hadn’t done in a while which was, for Cambodia, fairly hilly. Now, most of the country is fairly flat, interconnected with great single track winding through the forest. Loads of wide open sand riding through the trees in the dry, and muddy waterlogged ruts in the wet. If you want hilly regions you really have to get onto the routes along the borders in the East, traversing Ratankiri and Mondulkiri provinces, or through the Cardamom Mountains in the west and parts of Kirirom National Park. Single track is great, but it’s nice to break it up a bit. There are some good hill climbs scattered around the country but they are pretty much just that. You go up and then you come down…to more single track.

Picture10.jpg